105 Ways to Give a Book

Oops. (Geisel Award)

Zelda and Ivy: The RunawaysAll right. There’s an award I shouldn’t have missed. I shouldn’t have missed it because one of the books receiving the award was a book that was given to me by the author. And was a book specifically recommended to me by a blogfriend. So...

Theodor Seuss Geisel Beginning Reader Award Winner:

Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways, written and illustrated by Laura McGee Kvasnosky
(No, not this one.)

Three Geisel Honor Books:
  • Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride, written by Kate DiCamillo
    (No, not this one either — though I think it is funny that the lighter side of DiCamillo won and the darker side did not.)

  • Move Over, Rover! written by Karen Beaumont

  • Not a Box, written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis
    (Yes! Many of the kids’ lit blogs reviewed it and liked it, but it seems that we missed her award — including the blogger who suggested the book to me.)
I am a bit confused by the award itself, which is for “the most distinguished beginning reader book”; I thought of Not a Box as a picture book. What’s up with that?

While I’m here, let me also mention the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children, which went to Team Moon: How 400,000 People Landed Apollo 11 on the Moon, written by Catherine Thimmesh. Great book, and also much talked about in the kid-lit world, including here.
Category: 2 comments


Julie said...

About "Not a Box" being a beginning reader: I didn't think of it that way either, but once it won an honor, I thought, well of course! If the Bob books are beginning readers, then Not a Box should qualify. Forgive me, but I have to say it: the committee was thinking outside the box. (oy)

Greg Pincus said...

Hey now... I did a whole post on N.A.B. later on. I am totally happy that the book won an honor, I must say. And it's much deserved.